Press "Enter" to skip to content

Youngkin names former delegate to lead criminal justice agency

Gov. Glenn Youngkin has named a former Republican delegate to lead Virginia’s criminal justice services agency, and made the acting state health commissioner a permanent appointment to oversee the state public health system.

Youngkin also has picked a new chief information officer to lead the Virginia Information Technologies Agency after his first choice left after less than a month on the job.

The governor’s office confirmed on Friday that he has appointed Jackson H. Miller as director of the Department of Criminal Justice Services. The agency provides training and funding to law enforcement agencies, while regulating private security companies and conducting research on criminal justice policy.

It also confirmed that the governor made permanent the appointment of Dr. Colin Greene as state commissioner of health. Greene, a longtime U.S. Army doctor, had been acting as health commissioner since January, after he replaced Dr. Norman Oliver to lead the Virginia Department of Health.

Those appointments were among more than two dozen that Youngkin’s office announced on Friday afternoon. Among them, the governor named Robert “Bob” Osmond as chief information officer to replace Phil Wittmer, who had returned to Kansas in February after less than a month on the job at VITA.

Osmond previously had worked in technology positions at the Virginia Department of Transportation. Most recently, he served as chief of technology and business strategy at VDOT.

The IT agency, serving 65 executive branch agencies and more than 55,000 state employees, also lost its No. 2 leader, Chief Operating Officer Jon Ozovek, who left soon after Wittmer took over from former CIO Nelson Moe.

Michael Watson, the agency’s chief information security officer, had been serving as acting CIO. Demetrias Rodgers, the deputy chief operating officer, is acting as COO.

In other appointments, Youngkin named longtime state budget analyst Michael Maul as director of the Department of Planning and Budget, replacing Dan Timberlake, who had retired in January.

The governor also named Randy McCabe as state comptroller, replacing David Von Moll, who is retiring after 21 years in a job that has a low profile but high importance in state government. McCabe has been serving as deputy comptroller.

Miller, 54, who already has begun work at the criminal justice services agency, served in the House of Delegates from 2006 to 2018, including six years as majority whip when Republicans controlled the House under then-Speaker Bill Howell, R-Stafford.

First elected in 2006 to fill an unexpired term after the death of longtime Republican Del. Harry Parrish, he served five two-year terms in the 50th House District, representing Manassas and part of Prince William County.

Miller lost his seat to Lee Carter, a self-declared Democratic Socialist, in 2017. The seat is held now by Del. Michelle Maldonado, D-Manassas, who defeated Carter in a three-way Democratic primary last year.


Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: